
New Hampshire 
332-B:20 Animal Physical Therapy Certification.  
 
I. Any physical therapist practicing physical therapy on any animal shall meet the requirements 
of this section and any additional requirements set by the board of veterinarians pursuant to RSA 
332-B:7-a, XIV and shall be certified by the board of veterinary medicine.  
II. Before treating an animal, an animal physical therapist shall receive a referral from a 
veterinarian licensed under RSA 332-B. Such referral shall be oral or written and an oral referral 
shall be followed by a written referral filed within 7 days of the first treatment by the animal 
physical therapist. The written referral shall contain the following:  
(a) The name of the animal;  
(b) The name of the owner;  
(c) A description of the animal;  
(d) A veterinary diagnosis; and  
(e) The referring veterinarian's signature.  
III. An animal physical therapist treating an animal shall provide to the referring veterinarian:  
(a) A written evaluation within 7 days after initial evaluation;  
(b) Any additional progress notes every 30 days; and  
(c) Notice of discharge or termination of treatment.  
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Oregon 

686.040 Application of ORS 686.020 (1)(a); consultation with individual licensed in other 
state; rules. (1) ORS 686.020 (1)(a) does not apply to commissioned veterinary officers of the 
United States Army, or those in the employ of other United States Government agencies while 
engaged in their official capacity, unless they enter into a private practice.  

(4) A practitioner of allied health methods may practice that method on animals without violating 
ORS 686.020 (1)(a), as long as the practice is in conformance with laws and rules governing the 
practitioner’s practice and the practice is upon referral from a licensed veterinarian for treatment 
or therapy specified by the veterinarian. 

Virginia 
The Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine state the following regarding 
physical therapists (to review the full text, please go to 
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_laws_regs.htm):  
 
18VAC150-20-172. Delegation of duties.  
D. Massage therapy or physical therapy may be delegated by a veterinarian to persons qualified 
by training and experience by an order from the veterinarian. 


