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1. Introduction and Statutory Authority

The Veterinary Medical Board (Board) developed the Citation Guidelines to assist its Executive
Officer, staff and legal counsel and other persons involved in the Board’s enforcement process in
determining when to issue a citation verses a formal disciplinary action and when issuing a citation,
how to determine the level of the fine levied and how to develop the Order of Abatement. These
guidelines are published in regulations for the public and the profession so that the processes used
by the Board to issue citations are readily available and transparent.

A citation is a legal means by which the Board can take action against a licensed or unlicensed
individual who is found to be in violation of the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act (Practice Act). A
citation does not typically involve the Attorney General, the District Attorney, or an administrative
hearing unless there is an appeal.

The specific laws governing the authority and the operation of the Board citation program are
contained in the Business and Professions Code, Article 4, Sections 125.9, and 4875 through
4875.6, and Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Article 5.5, Section 2043. The guidelines
outlined in this manual have been established by the Board with input from its executive officer and
legal counsel.

Citations contain an administrative fine and an Order of Abatement. Administrative fines depend on
the nature and/or severity of the violation or violations. Fine descriptions and fine parameters are
contained in Section 2043 of the California Code of Regulations, Title 16. Currently, fines range
from $ 50 to $1,500. The Board is seeking to increase the upper limits to $250 to $5,000.

Benefits of Citation

The citation program provides the VMB with consumer protection enforcement remedies that: (1)
address violations of the law which would not normally warrant a formal disciplinary action; and (2)
provide a relatively quick resolution to a complaint for both the consumer and licensee.

2. Board Consultants

Complaints - Initial Review

Complaints are investigated initially by the board’s enforcement unit. Once pertinent information is
gathered from all parties and the file is complete, the complaint is referred to a licensee board
consultant for evaluation. The Board utilizes licensees as consultants and some work in the office
and some throughout the state. For the most part, in-office consultants are utilized for the initial
review of complaints; however, occasionally the complaint is sent out for review.

If the initial investigation and evaluation reveals evidence of a possible violation of the practice act a
preliminary letter is sent to the respondent notifying them of the possible violation and providing
them with an opportunity to submit additional information. If additional information is submitted by
the respondent, it goes back to the board consultant for further evaluation.

Once the board consultant makes a final determination; the Executive Officer must decide what
action to take: 1) to close the case; 2) issue a citation; or 3) refer the case to the Office of the
Attorney General for formal disciplinary action. These guidelines outline the procedures followed
once there is a decision to issue a citation and fine.
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3. Types of Citations

Citations are issued by the board based on, 1) the medical records and any supporting documents
obtained during the investigation or other documents that support a violation of the California
Veterinary Medicine Practice Act and 2) the opinion/recommendation of the licensee board
consultant. The supporting information for issuing citations with a civil penalty must include
sufficient evidence to support each violation and to justify a civil penalty for one or more violations.

4. Citation Procedures

Decision to Issue a Citation

Based on evidence in the case and the opinion of the board consultant, the Executive Officer (EO)
is responsible for making the final determination regarding the issuance of a citation, taking into
consideration the seriousness of the complaint, the good faith of the individual, the violations
committed and prior enforcement action.

Determination
The determination to issue a citation and fine includes, but is not limited to, consideration of
the following factors:

1. Seriousness of the Complaint
= Type and severity of violation
= Number and sections violated
= Number of violations

2. Good Faith of the Respondent
= Responsiveness to the complaint and VMB
= Evidence that the violation was willful

3. Bad Faith of the Respondent
= Failure to cooperate with the Board'’s investigation
= Failure to provide records with stated amount of time
= Alteration of medical records

4. History of Previous Violations
= Previous warnings
= Previous or current legal actions
= Length of time between legal actions

Once a decision is made to issue a citation, the enforcement analyst shall prepare the citation order
and issue a citation and fine number.

Statement to Cited Respondent

The citation includes a cover letter that notifies the cited respondent of the effect of the citation,
payment of the fine, his/her right to a hearing, and the appeal procedures for requesting a hearing if
one is desired.

Voluntary Compliance with Citation

One option for the respondent is to pay the fine amount assessed within the stated timeframe.
Payment of such fine does not constitute an admission of the violation charged. Payment of the fine
represents a satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure. Both the
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complainant and the cited person are notified of the final disposition of a case once a citation is
final.

Failure to Comply

If the Respondent fails to respond to the citation within 30 days after the effective date of a final
citation decision by either paying the fine or appealing the citation, the board will either place a lien
hold on the renewal of the license, forward information to the Franchise Tax Board, or refer the
matter to the Attorney General’s office for further action.

Unless the citation is under appeal, if the respondent fails to pay the full amount of the civil penalty
within 30 days of the date on the citation, the full amount assessed shall be added to the cited
person’s renewal fee and a registration renewal will not be issued until the registration or renewal
fee and civil penalty are paid. For unlicensed person the penalty would be to refer the case to the
local District Attorney or to the Franchise Tax Board.

Citation Appeal

There are two levels of appeal in the citation process. The first level is an informal conference held
either in the board office with the Executive Officer and staff or conducted telephonically or via
written argument. The second level of appeal would be to request a formal administrative hearing
with an Administrative Law Judge.

In order to appeal, the respondent must complete the appeal form and return it to the board within
10 business days after receiving the citation Order. The respondent is required to identify the scope
of his or her appeal, whether he or she is contesting the citation in full or certain violations.

The citation and appeal processes are the same for licensees or unlicensed persons.

Informal Conference

If a respondent requests an informal conference, it must be held within 60 days from the receipt of
the Notice of Appeal/Request for an Informal Conference. The executive officer and staff conduct
the informal conference and the VMB'’s legal counsel, enforcement analyst, board consultant or
other appropriate staff person may be asked to participate.

At the conclusion of the informal conference, the executive officer will indicate that he/she will take
the matter under advisement and will render a written decision within 30 days. The citation and the
information provided during the informal conference is reviewed by the board consultant and then
based on recommendations of the board consultant, the executive officer decides which of the
following options is appropriate:

1. Affirm the Citation as written - The citation is complete and conclusive, supported by evidence
and written within the established guidelines.

2. Modify the Citation — In some cases, additional information is needed and the citations are
returned to the enforcement analyst for review and possible revision. If the citation is amended it
is most likely that the amount of the fine will also be reduced.

3. Investigate Further - In some instances the written report is returned to the enforcement analyst
for additional information or evidence required to support the recommended legal action. The
executive officer is responsible for specifying the nature of the information needed to support
issuance of the citation.
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4. Dismiss - The evidence presented does not support the citation, the citation is dismissed and
the case is closed.

Appeal of Final Decision

If the respondent desires to contest a decision made after an informal conference or written appeal,
he/she shall inform the executive officer in writing within 30 days after he/she receives the decision
resulting from the informal conference or written appeal.

Administrative Hearing

If the respondent has notified the executive officer in a timely manner that he/she desires to appeal
the decision made after the informal conference or written appeal, the executive officer shall contact
the Attorney General's Office and the Office of Administrative Hearings in order to arrange for an
administrative hearing. The administrative law judge shall prepare a proposed decision containing
Findings of Fact, and either affirming, modifying, or dismissing the citation. Thereafter, the proposed
decision shall be presented to the board for its consideration. The proceedings under this section
shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter
6, (commencing with Section 11500) et seq., and the board shall have all the powers granted
therein.

If, after the hearing, the citation is affirmed, the respondent shall pay the civil penalty assessed in
the citation within 10 business days of the effective date of the board’s decision, as well as comply
with other stipulations within the citation decision, such as an Order of Abatement.

Unlicensed Activity

The same three factors that apply to licensees must also be applied to unlicensed persons and
considered when determining whether or not to issue a citation, the: 1)gravity of the violation(s), 2)
good faith, and 3) enforcement history. Establishing “Good faith” may be difficult for an unlicensed
person and will require substantial evidence.

5. Terms and Definitions

Negligence: A departure from the standard of practice in the community

A. Usually, the “standard of practice in the community” is interpreted to mean in the
State of California and not in the specific local town or county.

B. Negligence can be an unintentional, i.e., a “mistake.”

_ i b i) ne anical

D. A specialist is held to a higher standard of care (the “community,” in this case,
would be the “specialist community” in California)

Incompetence: A lack of knowledge or ability in discharging professional veterinary
medical obligations.




Veterinarz Medical Board - praft 11/2011 @

Fraud and/or Deception: Fraud and/or deception are terms that are not as amenable to
brief definitions. They often overlap, so in evaluating conduct, it may not always be
necessary to make a distinction between them.

Deception: Deception is the more expansive term, applying to any act or omission
which deceives or misleads another person.

Fraud: Fraud, on the other hand, is an intentional act or omission with its object to
deceive or mislead another person by misrepresentation; deceit, or concealment of a
material fact.

Preliminary Letter: Once a routine initial complaint investigation is complete, which can
take anywhere from six to nine months, the complaint is either closed with no further action
or there is a determination of possible violations. At this point, if there are potential
violations, the respondent is sent a “preliminary” letter informing him or her of the
determination and providing them with the opportunity to submit additional information. If
additional information is submitted, it and the original complaint are reviewed again by the
consultant who reviewed it initially. Following that review, the Executive Officer makes a
determination as to whether or not to close the case, issue an education letter or cease and
desist, issue a citation or pursue other forms of discipline.

The processes for unlicensed persons in the Informal Conference, Final Citation, and
Administrative Hearing are the same as for licensees.

6. Citation Authority and Penalties - Licensees

The following guidelines outline the parameters under which the Board authorizes its Executive
Officer and staff to issue citations and fines for specific violations of the California Veterinary
Medicine Practice Act committed by licensees of the Board. Violation sections are listed in order of
priority.

In all situations if an individual is determined to have received three or more citations in any given
five year period; the next enforcement action would warrant formal discipline with the Office of the
Attorney General or local District Attorney.

1. Note: The nature and/or severity of violations may determine whether action taken is
citation and fine or formal discipline, i.e., cruelty to animals is a high priority for the Board
and such violations would not be handled via a citation, but would be referred to the Office
of the Attorney General for formal disciplinary action.

LICENSEES - Violations and Related Penalties

1. Negligence - Section 4883 (i)

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level— B $500 — $3,000
$750 for first violation in Order
$350 for each subsequent violation in same Order
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Level - C $1,000 - $4,000
$1,000 first count
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

2. Having professional connection with, or lending the licensee’s or reqgistrant’s name to,
any illegal practitioner of veterinary medicine and the various branches thereof, Section

4883(b)

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$ 250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first count
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

3. Violation of the provisions of the chapter, Section 4883(c)

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first count
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

4. Unprofessional conduct, e.g., general violations - Section 4883(q)

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level—C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first count
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order
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5. Failure to keep premises and equipment clean and sanitary - B&P Section 4883 (h);
Sections 4853.5 and 4854 (practice sanitation standards);CCR Sections 2030 - Minimum
Standards

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level —C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first count
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

6. Aiding or abetting in acts which are in of violation of this chapter - Section 4883 (j)

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$1,000 for first violation in Order
$350 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level -C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,500 first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

7. Discipline of license in another state or territory - Section 4883 (1)

Level —A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level—C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first count
$750 fir each subsequent violation in same Order

8. Disciplinary actions by other public agencies that relate to the practice of veterinary
medicine - Section 4883 (n)

Level — A $250 - $3.000
$250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order
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Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level —C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first count
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

9. Written Records, B&P Section 4855, 4883(0); CCR Sections 2032.3 Recordkeeping and
2032.4 Anesthesia

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first count
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

10. Inspection of Records and Premises, Section 4856

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level -C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first violation in Order
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

12. Record Confidentiality, Section 4857

Level —A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$100 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 first violation in Order
$750 for each subsequent violation in the same Order
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13. Report of animal abuse or cruelty, Section 4830.5

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$150 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$750 for first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

14. Aiding and Abeting unauthorized health care services by RVTs or unreqgistered
assistants. B&P Sections 4836, 4836.5 and 4883(j) CCR Sections 2034-2036.5

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$1,000 for first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level— C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,500 first violation in Order
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

15. Unlicensed Activity, Section 4830.5, B&P Codes, 4825, 4826, 4841 CCR 2036, 2036.5

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$350 for first violation in Order
$150 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$750 first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

16. VCPR, B&P Code 4883 (0); CCR 2032.1

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$250 for first violation in Order
$150 for each subsequent violation in same Order
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Level — B $500 — $4,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level— C $1,000 - $5,000
$750 first each violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

7. Citation Authority and Penalties — Unlicensed

The following outlines the parameters under which the Board authorizes its Executive Officer and
staff to issue citations and fines for specific violations of the California Veterinary Medicine Practice
Act committed by unlicensed persons. Violation sections are listed in order of priority.

In all situations if an unlicensed individual is determined to have received three or more citations in
any given five year period or more than one “C” level citation; the next action would be a referral for
formal discipline with the Office of the Attorney General or the Office of the District Attorney.

UNLICENSED ACTIVITY - Violations and Related Penalties

1. Negligence - Section 4883 (i)

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$1,000 for first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $3,000
$1,500 for first violation in Order
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $4,000
$2,000 for first violation in Order
$1,000 for each subsequent violation in same Order

2. Having professional connection with, or lending the licensee’s or reqgistrant’s name to,
any illegal practitioner of veterinary medicine and the various branches thereof, Section

4883(b)

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$750 for first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 for first violation in Order
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order
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3. Violation of the provisions of the chapter, Section 4883(c)

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$750 for first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,000 for first violation in Order
$750 each subsequent violation in same Order

4. Aiding or abetting in acts which are in of violation of this chapter - Section 4883 ()

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$500 for first violation in Order
$250 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$1,000 for first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$1,500 for first violation in Order
$750 each subsequent violation in the same Order

5. Aiding and Abeting unauthorized health care services by RVTs or unreqistered
assistants. B&P Sections 4836, 4836.5 and 4883(j) CCR Sections 2034-2036.5

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$ 1,000 for first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level — B $500 — $4,000
$2,000 for first violation in Order
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$3,000 for first violation in Order
$ 1,000 each subsequent violation in same Order

6. Unlicensed Activity, Section 4830.5, B&P Codes, 4825, 4826, 4841 CCR 2036, 2036.5

Level — A $250 - $3,000
$1,000 for first violation in Order
$500 for each subsequent violation in same Order
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Level — B $500 — $4,000
$2,000 for first violation in Order
$750 for each subsequent violation in same Order

Level - C $1,000 - $5,000
$3,000 first violation in Order
$1,000 each subsequent violation in same Order
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