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VETERINARIAN INITIAL EXAM APPLICATION — CA SCHOOL GRADUATE
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Apply Online at www.BreEZe.ca.gov

This application is for:
e Graduates or senior students within eight (8) months of graduation from the University of California at Davis or
Western University of Health Sciences

Required Fees
e Application Fee: $125 (non-refundable)
e California State Board (CSB) Examination Fee: $200

Required Documentation

Photograph (similar to a passport photograph)

e Diploma, official transcript, or Dean'’s letter (senior student within eight (8) months of graduation)*
e Verification of passing the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE)

e License verification/letter of good standing**

Candidates must complete the application, pay required fees, and submit all required documentation.
Department of Justice and FBI fingerprint clearances are not required to take the exam but are required to become licensed.

Initial application review may take up to eight (8) weeks. Following initial application review, the Board will notify you in
writing of any deficiency, and you will be given an opportunity to submit deficient documentation.

Once the application has been approved, your information is submitted to the Board’s testing vendor, Psychological Services
Incorporated (PSI), PSI will send the examination handbook which includes information on scheduling the CSB. Candidates
have twelve (12) months from the date the application was approved to take the CSB. The CSB is computer based and
offered year round. Candidates must complete this application pay required fees, and submit all required documentation.
Applicants who are scheduled to appear for the CSB and are unable to appear must notify PSI at least two days prior to their
scheduled examination date in order to be rescheduled with no additional fee.

Additional Information
In order to become licensed in California, the following examinations must be completed within 60 months (the 60-month
timeframe begins once a candidate passes any of the following examinations):

¢ North American Veterinary Examination (NAVLE)

e California State Board Examination (CSB)

Applicants who passed the NBE, CCT, or NAVLE must have scores transferred by VIVA. California does not accept NBE,
CCT, or NAVLE scores from any other source. Applicants may request applicable transfer from VIVA at www.aavsb.org.

Applicants applying for the NAVLE must apply directly to the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). For
further information on the NAVLE application review process and deadlines, please contact the AAVSB at www.aavsb.org.

*Dean'’s letter, with school seal, showing expected date of graduation within eight (8) months of application (Note: a copy of
your diploma will be required prior to licensure).

**icense verifications for each state, U.S. territory or Canadian province in which you are or have been licensed (even if the

license is not current) must be original letters issued from each state’'s board office or obtained through Veterinary
Information Verifying Agency (VIVA). Please note other state boards may take up to eight (8) weeks to process your request.
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Information Privacy Act

Failure to provide any of the requested information will result in the application being deemed incomplete. The information
provided will be used to determine qualification for licensure, per Section 4841-4842 of the Business and Professions Code
which authorizes the collection of this information. Information regarding the issuance or denial of a license by the Board may
be transmitted to any other veterinary medical licensing authority. Candidates have the right to review their application
subject to the provisions of the Information Practice Act. The Executive Officer is custodian of records.

Your completed application becomes the property of the Board and will be used by authorized personnel to determine
eligibility. Information on the application may be transferred to other governmental or law enforcement agencies. Pursuant to
the California Public Records Act (Gov. Code 86250 et seq.) and the Information Practices Act (Div. Code 81798.61), the
names and addresses of persons possessing a license or registration may be disclosed by the department unless otherwise
specifically exempt from disclosure under the law. The name and address included on this application is subject to public
disclosure and may be disclosed upon request.

Information you provide on this application is maintained by the Executive Officer of the Veterinary Medical Board, 1747 N.
Market Blvd., Suite 230, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 515-5220. The information is requested pursuant to Business and
Professions Code sections 4832-4844 and/or Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Division 20, Article 6. You have the
right to review the records maintained on you by the Board or department unless the records are exempt by section 1798.40
of the Civil Code. You may gain access to the information by contacting the Veterinary Medical Board.

You have the right to review the records maintained on you by the Board or department unless the records are exempt by
section 1798.40 of the Civil Code. You may gain accessed to the information by contacting the Veterinary Medical Board.

Reasonable Accommodations

The Veterinary Medical Board provides reasonable accommodations for candidates with a physical or learning disability.
Candidates must notify the Board of their needs by completing a Request for Accommodation of Disabilities. The Request
for Accommodations of Disabilities, including the Professional Evaluation and Documentation of Disability form, all supporting
disability documentation from a licensed professional, and the complete evaluation report on official letterhead, must be
submitted as part of the application.

Expedited Application for Spouses or Domestic Partners of Active Duty Military Personnel

An applicant for expedited application processing must meet the following requirements: (1) must provide evidence that the
applicant is married to, or in a domestic partnership or other legal union with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces of
the United States who is assigned to a duty station in California under official active duty orders; and (2) hold a current
license in another state, district, or territory of the United States in veterinary medicine.

Live Scan/Fingerprinting

Section 144(b) of the Business and Professions Code authorizes the Veterinary Medical Board (Board) to collect fingerprints
for background checks of applicants for licensure. Fingerprints must be submitted prior to licensure via Live Scan pursuant to
Penal Code Section 11077.1. The results from Live Scan must be received by the Board prior to examination.

For more information regarding Live Scan, please refer to Fingerprinting Requirements and Live Scan/Fingerprint Overview
information. Your fingerprints must be processed at a California Live Scan facility of submit a fingerprint hard card, and
service must include both the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Fingerprints
processing fees are paid directly to the Live Scan facility. Please note any fingerprints submitted via a hard card are subject
to significant delays and will affect examination eligibility.

Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) is information identified through fingerprint submission to the California
Department of Justice (DOJ). CORI information includes criminal history information maintained by California local law
enforcements, the DOJ, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and other state law enforcement. CORI information is
confidential and used solely for the purpose of determining whether an applicant has criminal history that would be grounds
for denial of an application, or suspension or revocation of a registration pursuant to Section 475-499 of the Business and
Professions Code.

Licensure is subject to denial pursuant to Business and Professions Code Sections 475-499 upon review of your background
information.

Apply online or mail completed application, supporting documents and fee(s) to: Veterinary Medical Board, 1747 N.
Market Blvd., Suite 230, Sacramento, CA 95834-2978.
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Veterinary Medical Board
1747 N. Market Boulevard, Suite 230, Sacramento, CA 95834
Telephone: 916-515-5220 Fax: 916-928-6849 | www.vmb.ca.gov

VETERINARIAN INITIAL EXAM APPLICATION — CA SCHOOL GRADUATE

1. APPLICATION/FEES

|:| $125.00 - Application Evaluation Fee (non-refundable)

|:| $200.00 - State Board Examination Fee

Please make check or money order payable to VMB

Please mail completed application, supporting
documents and fee(s) to:
Veterinary Medical Board

1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 230
Sacramento, CA 95834-2978

2. APPLICANT INFORMATION

LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME BIRTHDATE
ADDRESS OF RECORD CITY STATE ZIP CODE
COUNTY COUNTRY PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL SSN/ITIN**

**Disclosure of a U.S. Social Security number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) is mandatory and must be provided prior to licensure. Section 30 of the
Business and Profession Code and Public Law 94-455 [42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)] authorize collection of the SSN or ITIN. Your SSN or ITIN will be used exclusively for tax
enforcement purposes and for purposes of compliance with any judgment or support order in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code.

3. EDUCATION INFORMATION

EDUCATION PROVIDER

START DATE

GRADUATION DATE OR EXPECTED
GRADUATION DATE

DEGREE

4. STATES/PROVINCES CURRENTLY OR PREVIOUSLY LICENSED AS A VETERINARIAN

STATE/PROVINCE

LICENSE #

DATE ISSUED

BEGAN PRACTICE PERIOD

END PRACTICE PERIOD

If additional space is needed, please attach additional sheet.

5. DISCLOSURE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION

PROCEEDING?

If Yes, please provide a detailed written explanation including the date and state where the discipline occurred.

HAVE YOU EVER HAD DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS AGAINST ANY LICENSE TO PRACTICE VETERINARY
MEDICINE INCLUDING REVOCATION, SUSPENSION, PROBATION, VOLUNTARY SURRENDER, OR ANY OTHER

ves ] ~o []

ENTITY/FILE #:

RECEIPT #:

FORM 25A-1 (Rev. 09/2010)

(OFFICE USE ONLY)

DATE CASHIERED

AMOU

NT PAID: $
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6. CONVICTION OF MISDEMEANOR OR FELONY

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF, OR PLED GUILTY OR NOLO CONTENDERE TO ANY CRIMINAL OR CIVIL
OFFENSE IN THE UNITED STATES, ITS TERRITORIES, OR A FOREIGN COUNTRY?*

YES |:| NO |:|
If Yes, please provide certified copies of arrest reports, certified court documents, certified probation/rehabilitation
documents, and a signed and dated detailed letter explaining circumstances.*

*This includes every citation, infraction, misdemeanor and/or felony, including traffic violations. Convictions that were adjudicated in the juvenile court or convictions under
California Health and Safety Code section 11357(b), (c), (d), €), or section 11360(b) which are two years or older should NOT be reported. Convictions that were later dismissed
pursuant to sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of the California Penal Code or equivalent non-California law MUST be disclosed.

7. EXPEDITED APPLICATION FOR SPOUSES OR DOMESTIC PARTNERS OR ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL

ARE YOU A SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER OF ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL?
ves [ ] no []

If Yes, you may qualify for expedited application processing.*

*An applicant for expedited application processing must meet the following requirements: 1) provide evidence that the applicant is married to, or in a domestic partnership or
other legal union with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty station in California under official active duty orders and,
2) hold a current license in another state, district, or territory of the United States in veterinary medicine.

8. CERTIFICATION AND PHOTOGRAPH

I understand that | am required to report immediately to the California Veterinary Medical Board if | am convicted of any offense that
occurs between the date of this application and the date that a California veterinary license is issued. | am also required to report to the
California Veterinary Medical Board any disciplinary action and/or voluntary surrender against any license as a veterinarian or any
veterinary related license that occurs between the date of this application and the date that a California veterinary license is issued. |
understand that failure to do so may result in denial of this application or subsequent disciplinary action against my license.

| certify, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that all information provided in connection with this application
for licensure examination is true, correct, and complete. Providing false information or omitting required information is grounds for denial
of licensure or revocation of licensure in California.

Signature
ATTACH A
PASSPORT-SIZED PHOTO
Date HERE

FORM 25A-1 (Rev. 09/2010) 4601-1010 (Rev. 1/2016)
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