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REGISTERED VETERINARY TECHINICIAN INITIAL EXAM APPLICATION 

OUT OF STATE RVT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 

Apply Online at www.BreEZe.ca.gov 
 

 

This application is for: 
 Applicants who wish to become licensed as a Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT) and are: 

• Currently licensed in good standing in another state, U.S. territory or Canadian province with at least 4,416 hours of 
practical experience (in specified areas) in no less than 24 months under the direct supervision of a veterinarian 
licensed in the United State, Canada or U.S. territory. 
 

Candidates must complete the application, pay required fees, and submit all required documentation. 
 

Required Fees 
• Application Fee:  $125 (non-refundable) 
• California Veterinary Technician Examination (CVTE) Fee:  $175 

 

Required Documentation 
• Photograph (similar to passport photograph) 
• License verification/letter of good standing* 
• Verification from a state board that the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) or a written practical 

state board exam has been passed (written law & jurisprudence exam is not acceptable) in the state from which 
applicant is applying, OR verification from a state board that passing the VTNE was required for 
registration/certification 

 
Required Information 

• Fingerprint clearances from the Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)** 
 
Initial application review may take up to eight (8) weeks.  Following initial application review, the Board will notify you in 
writing of any deficiency, and you will be given an opportunity to submit deficient documentation. 
 
Once the application has been approved, your information is submitted to the Board’s testing vendor, Psychological Services 
Incorporated (PSI), PSI will send the examination handbook which includes information on scheduling the CVTE.  Candidates 
have 12 months from the date the application was approved to take the CVTE.  The CVTE is computer based and offered 
year round. 
 
Additional Information 
In order to become licensed in California, the following examinations must be completed within 60 months (the 60-mmonth 
timeframe begins once a candidate passes any one of the following examinations): 

• Veterinarian Technician National Examination (VTNE)*** 
• California Veterinary Technician Examination (CVTE) 

 
Applicants who are unable to appear for their scheduled CVTE must notify PSI at least two days prior to their scheduled 
examination date in order to be rescheduled with no additional fee. 
 
*License verifications for each state, U.S. territory or Canadian province in which you are or have been licensed (even if the 
license is not current) must be original letters issued from each state’s board office or be obtained through Veterinary 
Information Verifying Agency (VIVA).  Please note other state boards may take up to eight (8) weeks to process your request. 
 
**Department of Justice and FBI fingerprint clearances are required for examination eligibility.   
 
***Applicants for the VTNE apply directly to the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB).  Those applicants 
who graduated from an American Veterinary Medical Association accredited school will automatically be made eligible to take 
the VTNE. 
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Information Privacy Act 
Failure to provide any of the requested information will result in the application being deemed incomplete. The information 
provided will be used to determine qualification for licensure, per Section 4841-4842 of the Business and Professions Code 
which authorizes the collection of this information. Information regarding the issuance or denial of a license by the Board may 
be transmitted to any other veterinary medical licensing authority. Candidates have the right to review their application 
subject to the provisions of the Information Practice Act. The Executive Officer is custodian of records. 
 
Your completed application becomes the property of the Board and will be used by authorized personnel to determine 
eligibility. Information on the application may be transferred to other governmental or law enforcement agencies. Pursuant to 
the California Public Records Act (Gov. Code §6250 et seq.) and the Information Practices Act (Div. Code §1798.61), the 
names and addresses of persons possessing a license or registration may be disclosed by the department unless otherwise 
specifically exempt from disclosure under the law. The name and address included on this application is subject to public 
disclosure and may be disclosed upon request. 
 
Information you provide on this application is maintained by the Executive Officer of the Veterinary Medical Board, 1747 N. 
Market Blvd., Suite 230, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 515-5220. The information is requested pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code sections 4832-4844 and/or Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Division 20, Article 6.  You have the 
right to review the records maintained on you by the Board or department unless the records are exempt by section 1798.40 
of the Civil Code. You may gain access to the information by contacting the Veterinary Medical Board. 
 
You have the right to review the records maintained on you by the Board or department unless the records are exempt by 
section 1798.40 of the Civil Code.  You may gain accessed to the information by contacting the Veterinary Medical Board. 
 
Live Scan/Fingerprinting 
Section 144(b) of the Business and Professions Code authorizes the Veterinary Medical Board (Board) to collect fingerprints 
for background checks of applicants for licensure.  Fingerprints must be submitted prior to licensure via Live Scan pursuant to 
Penal Code Section 11077.1.  The results from Live Scan must be received by the Board prior to examination. 
 
For more information regarding Live Scan, please refer to Fingerprinting Requirements and Live Scan/Fingerprint Overview 
information.  Your fingerprints must be processed at a California Live Scan facility of submit a fingerprint hard card, and 
service must include both the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  Fingerprints 
processing fees are paid directly to the Live Scan facility.  Please note any fingerprints submitted via a hard card are subject 
to significant delays and will affect examination eligibility. 
 
Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) is information identified through fingerprint submission to the California 
Department of Justice (DOJ).  CORI information includes criminal history information maintained by California local law 
enforcements, the DOJ, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and other state law enforcement. CORI information is 
confidential and used solely for the purpose of determining whether an applicant has criminal history that would be grounds 
for denial of an application, or suspension or revocation of a registration pursuant to Section 475-499 of the Business and 
Professions Code. 
 
Licensure is subject to denial pursuant to Business and Professions Code Sections 475-499 upon review of your background 
information. 
 
Reasonable Accommodations 
The Veterinary Medical Board provides reasonable accommodations for candidates with a physical or learning disability.  
Candidates must notify the Board of their needs by completing a Request for Accommodation of Disabilities.  The Request 
for Accommodations of Disabilities, including the Professional Evaluation and Documentation of Disability form, all supporting 
disability documentation from a licensed professional, and the complete evaluation report on official letterhead, must be 
submitted as part of the application. 
 
Expedited Application for Spouses or Domestic Partners of Active Duty Military Personnel 
An applicant for expedited application processing must meet the following requirements:  (1) must provide evidence that the 
applicant is married to, or in a domestic partnership or other legal union with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces of 
the United States who is assigned to a duty station in California under official active duty orders; and (2) hold a current 
license in another state, district, or territory of the United States in veterinary medicine. 
 
Apply online or mail the completed application with the appropriate fees payable to the Veterinary Medical Board to: 
Veterinary Medical Board, 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 230, Sacramento, CA 95834 

http://www.vmb.ca.gov/
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REGISTERED VETERINARY TECHNICIAN EXAM APPLICATION 

OUT OF STATE REGISTERED VETERINARY TECHNICIAN 
 
1.  APPLICATION/FEES 

 
 $125.00 - Application Evaluation Fee (non-refundable) 

 
 $175.00 - State Board Examination Fee 

 
 

Please make check or money order payable to VMB 

Please mail completed application, supporting 
documents and fee(s) to: 
Veterinary Medical Board 

1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 230 
Sacramento, CA 95834-2978 

 
2.  APPLICANT INFORMATION  
  LAST NAME   FIRST NAME   MIDDLE NAME   BIRTHDATE 

ADDRESS OF RECORD CITY 
 

STATE 
 

ZIP CODE 
 

  COUNTY COUNTRY PHONE NUMBER 

  EMAIL  SSN/ITIN** 

**Disclosure of a U.S. Social Security number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) is mandatory and must be provided prior to licensure. Section 30 of the 
Business and Profession Code and Public Law 94-455 [42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)] authorize collection of the SSN or ITIN. Your SSN or ITIN will be used exclusively for tax 
enforcement purposes and for purposes of compliance with any judgment or support order in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code. 

 
3.  EDUCATION INFORMATION 

EDUCATION PROVIDER START DATE GRADUATION DATE OR EXPECTED 
GRADUATION  DATE DEGREE 

    

 
4. STATES/PROVINCES CURRENTLY OR PREVIOUSLY LICENSED AS A REGISTERED VETERINARY TECHNICIAN  
STATE/PROVINCE LICENSE # DATE ISSUED EXAM CREDENTIALS BEGAN PRACTICE PERIOD END PRACTICE PERIOD 

      

      

If additional space is needed, please attach additional sheet. 
 
5.  DISCLOSURE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION 

HAVE YOU EVER HAD DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS AGAINST ANY LICENSE TO PRACTICE VETERINARY 
MEDICINE INCLUDING REVOCATION, SUSPENSION, PROBATION, VOLUNTARY SURRENDER, OR ANY OTHER 
PROCEEDING? 
 
If Yes, please provide a detailed written explanation including the date and state where the discipline occurred. 

YES      NO   

 
 
 
 
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------(OFFICE USE ONLY)-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

ENTITY/FILE #:  RECEIPT #:  DATE CASHIERED :  AMOUNT PAID: $ 
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6.  CONVICTION OF MISDEMEANOR OR FELONY 
HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF, OR PLED GUILTY OR NOLO CONTENDERE TO ANY CRIMINAL OR CIVIL 
OFFENSE IN THE UNITED STATES, ITS TERRITORIES, OR A FOREIGN COUNTRY?* 
 
If Yes, please provide certified copies of arrest reports, certified court documents, certified probation/rehabilitation 
documents, and a signed and dated detailed letter explaining circumstances.* 

YES      NO   

*This includes every citation, infraction, misdemeanor and/or felony, including traffic violations.  Convictions that were adjudicated in the juvenile court or convictions under 
California Health and Safety Code section 11357(b), (c), (d), €), or section 11360(b) which are two years or older should NOT be reported.  Convictions that were later dismissed 
pursuant to sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41 of the California Penal Code or equivalent non-California law MUST be disclosed.

 
 

 
7.  EXPEDITED APPLICATION FOR SPOUSES OR DOMESTIC PARTNERS OR ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL 

ARE YOU A SPOUSE OR DOMESTIC PARTNER OF ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY PERSONNEL? 
 
If Yes, you may qualify for expedited application processing.*  

YES      NO   

*An applicant for expedited application processing must meet the following requirements: 1) provide evidence that the applicant is married to, or in a domestic partnership or 
other legal union with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty station in California under official active duty orders and,  
2) hold a current license in another state, district, or territory of the United States in veterinary medicine.

 
 

 
8. CERTIFICATION AND PHOTOGRAPH 

I understand that I am required to report immediately to the California Veterinary Medical Board if I am convicted of any offense that 
occurs between the date of this application and the date that a California veterinary license is issued. I am also required to report to the 
California Veterinary Medical Board any disciplinary action and/or voluntary surrender against any license as a veterinarian or any 
veterinary related license that occurs between the date of this application and the date that a California veterinary license is issued. I 
understand that failure to do so may result in denial of this application or subsequent disciplinary action against my license. 
 
I certify, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that all information provided in connection with this application 
for licensure examination is true, correct, and complete. Providing false information or omitting required information is grounds for denial 
of licensure or revocation of licensure in California. 
 
 
 
Signature________________________________________ 
  
 
Date____________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 ATTACH A 

PASSPORT-SIZED PHOTO 
HERE 
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