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VETERINARIAN INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS
Apply Online at www.BreEZe.ca.gov

This application is for:
e Initial licensure as a California veterinarian

Required Fees
e Initial License Fee: $290

Additional Information:

The Board must receive all required documentation/information prior to issuing a veterinary license, including, but not limited

to:

United States issued Social Security number

Fingerprint clearances from the Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

Photocopy of diploma or an official transcript showing degree conferred**

Verification of passing the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination

ECFVG of PAVE certificate (if graduate from non-AMVA accredited school)

Verification of passing the Veterinary Law Examination (if graduate from non-California veterinary school or a

reciprocity license applicant)

o Verification of completion of the 3-day course on California regionally specific diseases and conditions (if a reciprocity
license applicant)

e Supervision forms verifying licensing and work experience (if a reciprocity license applicant)

Applicants who fail to apply for licensure within two (2) years from notification of eligibility are subject to abandonment of their
application and must reapply pursuant to CCR section 2015.5.

The Veterinary Medical Board utilizes a birth month renewal system. The month in which you were born determines your
initial license period.

For example, if you applied for your initial license in January and were born in July, your initial license period will expire two
(2) birth months from application date, making the initial license period 19 months. Initial licenses will not be issued for less
than 13 months and no more than 24 months. Following your initial license period, your license will renew biennially (every
two (2) years).

**|f not issued in English, the diploma or official transcript showing degree conferred must include notarized copies of the
diploma or transcripts including original certified translation by a licensed translator.

Information Privacy Act

Failure to provide any of the requested information will result in the application being deemed incomplete. The information
provided will be used to determine qualification for licensure, per Section 4841-4842 of the Business and Professions Code
which authorizes the collection of this information. Information regarding the issuance or denial of a license by the Board may
be transmitted to any other veterinary medical licensing authority. Candidates have the right to review their application
subject to the provisions of the Information Practice Act. The Executive Officer is custodian of records.

Your completed application becomes the property of the Board and will be used by authorized personnel to determine
eligibility. Information on the application may be transferred to other governmental or law enforcement agencies. Pursuant to
the California Public Records Act (Gov. Code 86250 et seq.) and the Information Practices Act (Div. Code §1798.61), the
names and addresses of persons possessing a license or registration may be disclosed by the department unless otherwise
specifically exempt from disclosure under the law. The name and address included on this application is subject to public
disclosure and may be disclosed upon request.

Information you provide on this application is maintained by the Executive Officer of the Veterinary Medical Board, 1747 N.
Market Blvd., Suite 230, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 515-5220. The information is requested pursuant to Business and
Professions Code sections 4832-4844 and/or Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Division 20, Article 6. You have the



right to review the records maintained on you by the Board or department unless the records are exempt by section 1798.40
of the Civil Code. You may gain access to the information by contacting the Veterinary Medical Board.

You have the right to review the records maintained on you by the Board or department unless the records are exempt by
section 1798.40 of the Civil Code. You may gain accessed to the information by contacting the Veterinary Medical Board.

Live Scan Fingerprinting

Section 144(b) of the Business and Professions Code authorizes the Veterinary Medical Board (Board) to collect fingerprints
for background checks of applicants for licensure. Fingerprints must be submitted prior to licensure via Live Scan pursuant to
Penal Code Section 11077.1. The results from Live Scan must be received by the Board prior to examination.

For more information regarding Live Scan, please refer to Fingerprinting Requirements and Live Scan/Fingerprint Overview
information. Your fingerprints must be processed at a California Live Scan facility of submit a fingerprint hard card, and
service must include both the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Fingerprints
processing fees are paid directly to the Live Scan facility. Please note any fingerprints submitted via a hard card are subject
to significant delays and will affect examination eligibility.

Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) is information identified through fingerprint submission to the California
Department of Justice (DOJ). CORI information includes criminal history information maintained by California local law
enforcements, the DOJ, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and other state law enforcement. CORI information is
confidential and used solely for the purpose of determining whether an applicant has criminal history that would be grounds
for denial of an application, or suspension or revocation of a registration pursuant to Section 475-499 of the Business and
Professions Code.

Licensure is subject to denial pursuant to Business and Professions Code Sections 475-499 upon review of your background
information.

Change of Address

You are required to notify the Board of an address change within 30 days of the change in accordance with BPC Section
4842.7. The name and address included on this application is subject to public disclosure and may be disclosed upon
request. Please notify the Board immediately of any address and/or name change. You may update your name and/or
address by using the Veterinary Name Change form and/or the Veterinary Address Change form.

Apply online or mail completed application, supporting documents and fee(s) to: Veterinary Medical Board, 1747 N.
Market Blvd., Suite 230, Sacramento, CA 95834-2978.
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VETERINARIAN INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION

1. APPLICATION/FEES

|:| $290.00 — Initial License Application Fee

Please make check or money order payable to VMB

Please mail completed application, supporting
documents and fee(s) to:
Veterinary Medical Board

1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 230
Sacramento, CA 95834-2978

2. APPLICANT INFORMATION

LAST NAME

FIRST NAME

MIDDLE NAME

ADDRESS OF RECORD

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

BUSINESS NAME (If applicable)

COUNTY

COUNTRY

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

SSN/ITIN**

**Disclosure of a U.S. Social Security number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) is mandatory and must be provided prior to licensure. Section 30 of the
Business and Profession Code and Public Law 94-455 [42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)] authorize collection of the SSN or ITIN. Your SSN or ITIN will be used exclusively for tax
enforcement purposes and for purposes of compliance with any judgment or support order in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code.

3. EDUCATION INFORMATION

EDUCATION PROVIDER

GRADUATION DATE

DEGREE

4. CERTIFICATION

Signature

Date

| certify, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that all information provided in connection with this application
for licensure examination is true, correct, and complete. Providing false information or omitting required information is grounds for denial
of licensure or revocation of licensure in California.

ENTITY/FILE #:

RECEIPT #:

(OFFICE USE ONLY)

DATE CASHIERED : AMOUNT PAID:

$

4601-1020 (Rev. 1/2016)
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