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Veterinary Medical Board

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVER REQUEST

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 4838, all veterinary technicians wishing to renew their
license on or after July 1, 2013, must have completed 20 hours of approved continuing education.

A registrant may request a waiver from all 20 hours of continuing education. The request for waiver must
be based on the specific circumstances as stated below. Please indicate the reason you are requesting a

waiver:

a For at least one year during your current license period, you were or will be absent from California
due to military service; or

a For at least one year during your current license period you were prevented from practicing as an

RVT and from completing continuing education courses for the following reasons of health or undue
hardship which includes: (please check one)

Significant physical or mental disability.

Significant physical or mental disabilities of an individual where you have total responsibility
for the care of that individual.

Please attach a letter explaining the reason for the waiver request. In addition, you must submit verifiable
documentation that supports the waiver request, e.g., military documents, letter from physician(s), and other
necessary documents that provide a full explanation of the request that includes the time period the licensee
was prevented from obtaining required continuing education.

The Board will review each request and respond to the registrant within 75 working days after receipt of a
completed waiver request form and the required supporting documentation. If the Board denies the request
for waiver, the registrant shall complete the continuing education requirements as set forth in section 4838
of the Code. If the Board grants the request for waiver, it shall be valid only for the current renewal period.
The waiver does not exempt the registrant from payment of the license renewal fee.

By signing below, | affirm, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that | am
requesting an exemption from continuing education and that all statements contained in this waiver are true
and correct.

Registrant Signature License Number License Expiration Date
Printed Name Phone Number
Address City, State, Zip Code
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