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California Veterinary Technician Examination (CVTE) No Longer Required 

On April 17, 2019, the Veterinary Medical Board (Board), for reasons specified below, 
unapproved the current CVTE for Registered Veterinarian Technician (RVT) applicants.  
Passing the CVTE is no longer required in order to be licensed as an RVT. 

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code (BPC) Section 4841.4, the examination for RVT 
applicants consists of both of the following: 

1. A national licensing examination (VTNE); and 
2.“An examination specific to the animal health care tasks limited to California 
registered veterinary technicians, as approved by the board.” [Emphasis added.] 

The CVTE is intended to satisfy the examination specific to California animal health care tasks. 
Unlike veterinarian applicants, RVT applicants are not required to pass a jurisprudence (statutes 
and regulations) exam. 

The Board’s Executive Officer conducted a thorough review of the Occupational Analysis (OA), 
Review, and Linkage Study provided by the Department of Consumer Affairs, Office of 
Professional Examination Services (OPES), the December 2018 candidate bulletin provided by 
PSI (AAVSB’s examination vendor) outlining examination content, and the CVTE test questions, 
answers, and reference sheet. 

After careful consideration of the facts and concerns raised by OPES, the Board determined the 
following: (1) there are no identified animal health care tasks limited to California; (2) the current 
CVTE is equivalent to a jurisprudence examination; and, (3) the VTNE adequately tests the 
clinical knowledge used to determine minimal competency for California RVTs. The Board may 
consider approving a future examination if animal health care tasks limited to California are 
identified. 

Since the Board’s April 17 decision, the Board has been inundated with calls from RVT 
applicants.  Unfortunately, these calls negatively impact application processing. In an attempt to 
assist all applicants, the Board has provided answers to the frequently asked questions below. 

Q. I am scheduled for the CVTE, but I have not taken it yet.  Can I cancel the 
examination? 

A.  Yes. Please contact the Board’s examination vendor, PSI, directly to cancel your 
examination.  Cancellations should be made 48 hours prior to the scheduled examination. 
Applicants should log in through the PSI Website or call PSI and speak directly to a 
Customer Service Representative. 

PSI Website: https://candidate.psiexams.com/login.jsp 
PSI Phone: (877) 392-6422, 
PSI Hours: Monday through Friday 4:30 am - 7:00 pm, PST 

Saturday-Sunday 6:00 am - 2:30 pm, PST 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4841.4.&lawCode=BPC
https://candidate.psiexams.com/catalog/fti_agency_license_details.jsp?fromwhere=findtest&testid=932
https://candidate.psiexams.com/login.jsp
https://candidate.psiexams.com/login.jsp


   
 

 
   
     

 
 
      

 
 
       

   
 
      

 
    

   
 

 

Q. If I cancel the examination 48 hours prior to my scheduled examination, will I receive
a full refund?

A. Yes. Applicants who cancel 48 hours prior to their scheduled examinations will receive a full
refund. Applicants who do not cancel within that window will still receive a refund, but they 
may be subject to a minimal cancellation fee.

Q. Passing the CVTE is the only requirement I have left to fulfill. Am I now eligible for an
RVT license?

A. Yes. Board staff is currently identifying all applicants who fall within this category and will be
contacting those applicants with license information.

Q. I have already taken the CVTE.  Will I be refunded?

A. No. The Board’s decision is not applied retroactively.  However, candidates who did not
pass the CVTE are not required to take the CVTE again in order to be eligible for an RVT
license.


