

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY • GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • VETERINARY MEDICAL BOARD 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 230, Sacramento, CA 95834-2978 P (916) 515-5220 | Toll-Free (866) 229-0170 | www.vmb.ca.gov



## CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVER REQUEST

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 4846.5, all veterinarians wishing to renew their license on or after January 1, 2002, must complete 36 hours of approved continuing education.

A licensee may request a waiver from all 36 hours of continuing education. The request for waiver must be based on the specific circumstances as stated below. Please indicate the reason you are requesting a waiver:

- For at least one year during your current license period, you were or will be absent from California due to military service; or
- For at least one year during your current license period you were prevented from practicing veterinary medicine and from completing continuing education courses for the following reasons of health or undue hardship which includes: (please check one)
  - \_\_\_\_ Significant physical or mental disability.
  - \_\_\_\_ Significant physical or mental disabilities of an individual where you have total responsibility for the care of that individual.

Please <u>attach a letter explaining</u> the reason for the waiver request. In addition, you must <u>submit verifiable</u> <u>documentation</u> that supports the waiver request, e.g., military documents, letter from physician(s), and other necessary documents that provide a full explanation of the request <u>that includes the time period the licensee</u> <u>was prevented</u> from obtaining required continuing education.

The Board will review each request and respond to the licensee within 75 working days after receipt of a completed waiver request form and the required supporting documentation. If the Board denies the request for waiver, the licensee shall complete the continuing education requirements as set forth in section 4846.5 of the Code. If the Board grants the request for waiver, it shall be valid only for the current renewal period. The waiver does not exempt the licensee from payment of the license renewal fee.

By signing below, I affirm, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that I am requesting an exemption from continuing education and that all statements contained in this waiver are true and correct.

Licensee Signature

License Number

License Expiration Date

Printed Name

Address

City, State, Zip Code

Phone Number